A short history of Stonehenge and what's to come for the historic restaurant and inn.
When Victor Gilbert returned home from World War II, his dream of owning a country inn became a reality when he purchased a 65-acre plot of land in Ridgefield, adjacent to the Norwalk River. He converted the property’s 1823 farmhouse into an inn and restaurant, and named it Stonehenge, after the ancient site he visited in England during the war.
Nearly seventy years and several owners later, Stonehenge was purchased in May 2015 by Chef Jean-Pierre Rudaz and Drew Friedman, with the hope of creating a less formal dining experience in the same beautiful setting. However, less than a year later, a burst sprinkler system destroyed much of the restaurant, forcing it to close temporarily. Plans to renovate and re-open were put on hold when only a week later co-owner Drew Friedman died unexpectedly. “He was a wonderful man,” recalls Chef Jean-Pierre.
Doors were closed this summer in order to complete the renovations. The re-opening in September will feature a redesigned menu to accompany the modernized space. They will also continue to operate as an inn and banquet facility, with its pond and idylic surroundings, is a nice setting for a special event.
35 Stonehenge Rd.,